Assistant Professor | Chemical and Biomedical Engineering
Florida State University | Florida A&M University | College of Engineering

Affiliated: Scientific Computing Department, Materials Science and Engineering, High Performance Materials Institute, Condensed Matter Science, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory

Curriculum Vitae (CV)
(click to download)

PDF, University of California, Berkeley & Berkeley National Lab, 2014
Staff Scientist, California Institute of Technology & Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, 2013
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology (Caltech), 2012
M.Sc., California Institute of Technology (Caltech), 2010
B.Sc., Tec de Monterrey (ITESM), 2008. University of California, Los Angeles, 2006-2008

Short Bio:
I was born in the state of Oaxaca, Mexico. I obtained my B.Sc. (Honors) from Tec de Monterrey (ITESM) in 2008 with a visit to UCLA. In the summer of 2005 I worked at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with Prof. Jeffrey S. Moore as a Snyder fellow. From 2006 to 2008 I worked with Prof. Omar M. Yaghi from UCLA (now at UCBerkeley) where I developed the first 3D-COFs and chemoinformatics of the secondary building blocks for MOFs. By the end of 2007 I started doing my B.Sc. thesis at the lab of Prof. William A. Goddard III in collaboration with the lab of Prof. Yaghi. Then in the fall of 2008 I joined Caltech's grad school program which I finished in the spring of 2012 working in quantum mechanics, molecular dynamics and statistical mechanics.
In 2013, I joined the Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP) and I was a Staff Scientist at Caltech until Nov 4th, 2013. Then I worked in the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Materials Division) and University of California, Berkeley (Chemistry Dept.) under the JCAP umbrella.
In January 2015, I started as assistant professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineerring at the Joint College of Engineering | Florida State University | Florida A&M University.

Honors and Awards:
Roberto Rocca Graduate Fellowship, 2009.
International Center for Materials Research fellowship, 2009.
AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, 2007 (AAAS's oldest award, best paper in Science magazine).
Young Scientist Award, Ministry of Education (SEP), 2006.
Snyder Research Fellowship (UIUC), 2005.
Mexican Academy of Sciences (AMC) Research Fellowship, 2003.
Mexican Council of Sci. and Tech. (CONACyT) Fellowship, 2003.
Mexican Council of Sci. and Tech. (CONACyT) National Award, 2002.

Scientific pedigree:
  • J.L. Mendoza-Cortes obtained his Ph.D. in 2012 from William A. Godddard at Caltech in USA.
  • William A. Goddard III obtained his Ph.D. in 1964 from Pol Duwez at Caltech in USA.
  • Pol Duwez received his D.Sc. in 1933 from Emile Henriot at U. Brussels in Belgium.
  • Emile Henriot received his D.Sc. in 1912 from Marie Curie at the Sorbonne in France.
  • J.L. Mendoza-Cortes did his PDF in 2014 with Martin Head-Gordon at Berkeley in USA.
  • Martin Head-Gordon obtained his Ph.D. in 1989 from John Pople at Carnegie Mellon in USA.
  • John Pople received his D.Sc. in 1951 from John Lennard-Jones at Cambridge in England.
  • John Lennard-Jones received his D.Sc. in 1924 from Ralph H. Fowler at Cambridge in England.
  • Ralph H. Fowler gave his D.Sc. in 1926 to Paul Dirac at Cambridge in England.
Prof. Martin Head-Gordon (UC Berkeley), Prof. William A. Goddard (Caltech), Prof. Omar M. Yaghi (UCLA/UCBerkeley), Prof. Jeffrey S. Moore (UIUC), Prof. Marcelo Videa (ITESM), Prof. Leonor Blanco (UANL)

Current Collaborators:
In the making...

Past Collaborators:
Dr. Heinz Frei (LBL), Prof. Jonas Peters (Caltech), Dr. Hiro Furukawa (UCLA/UCBerkeley), Prof. Theodor Agapie (Caltech), Dr. Smith Nielsen (Caltech), Dr. Jacob Kanady (Caltech), Dr. Diego Benitez (UCLA), Prof. Manny Soriaga (A&M), Prof. Tom Klapotke (Munich), Dr. Andres Jaramillo (Caltech), Dr. Tod A. Pascal (Caltech), Dr. Sergey Zybin (Caltech), Dr. An Qi (Caltech), Dr. Hai Xiao(Caltech).

Mentees (Then/Now):
Amanda Rees (UCLA/Princeton), Alan Menezes (Caltech/NVIDIA), Nahid Nikidi (Caltech), Yubo Su (Caltech), Alex Anemogiannis (Caltech), Alexander Aduenko (MIPT/Trading), Finn Carlsvi (Embry-Riddle/ Caltech/Silicon Valley).